Nano and WDC


Nanowrimo is around the corner, and I shall indeed be taking part again. Not sure exactly what I’m going to work on this time, but, I would like to take the time to expound upon my recent endeavors towards urging my writing along.

I signed up on Writing.com a year ago, but never really looked at it beyond the first few visits. I forget what caused me to drift from it, but I did. Recently, I looked back, and got involved with a group on the site called World In Progress. They have these little courses designed to help a writer work on their characters, world, and other related topics towards strengthening their writing’s background. i.e. all that unwritten stuff that pretty much just exists in the writer’s head so they can write the story itself and make it more believable.

Well, I took their Character Creative, Timeline Technique, and Wonders of World Building classes. I’m going to look into the Ethnicity as well, just for the hell of it, but the point I wanted to make was…. I ventured away from using Fractal Mapper, and other programs, and looked into a video about building a map on Photoshop. I don’t have photoshop, but used gimp, and used what is available there to emulate what was done with the video, and I think I like how it came out there MUCH more than how it came out in the other programs. Not only did I make Verdania look better than on previous images, but I mapped out the other continents of the world of Demeteria, and am in the process of working on Arvandor as well. So, here we are, my map of Demeteria’s land masses.

Demeteria

 

 

 

 

 

My only dislike for this image, is the lack of ability to zoom in on specific regions of the map and put in more detail. It only comes up with a blurred, larger form of the area when I zoom in, even while I was working on it. So, even though I like how this turned out, I am still thinking of trying again if I ever get Campaign Cartographer 3.

This was not all I worked on, I made character sheets for a couple characters, and will continue to do others for other characters, but more importantly, I started work on a time line. I’ve hit a snag around the year 640, for the kingdom of Haven, not liking how I haven’t reached the year 1000 yet, and have already gotten certain events into the timeline. I’m going to switch my focus to the Elves, and work on their portion of the timeline, and see if I can stretch things out so that it at least exceeds 1,000 years, because I do have bits in the story already that refer to an event having happened 1,000 years ago, so the timeline won’t be complete anytime soon, but it is at least started and I’m working on it, which I had no idea how to start prior to this class. All thanks to Minara, GoldenAmber, and Robyn Sparks, the teachers & leaders of this group on Writing.Com.

My name on Writing.Com is the same as my Nano name, in case anyone wants to check me out: VerdaniaMan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

