Arvandorian Empire: Part 1


So, my biggest holdup in finishing Dorian’s story is procrastination. I started the story with flying colors, excelled beyond my own expectations, but when it comes time to revising that rough draft into something viable of publication, that’s where I hit a snag. On top of it, that is not my only hold up.

Perhaps only as a personal distaste, I find myself continually making these references in the story that I wish to expand on. Things like “the empire,” “Arvandorian Empire,” and “Imperial ‘enter noun here’.” However, I have very little description about the Empire itself and the people in it. I have no names set down in stone for the members of the Empire, nor do I feature any of these characters except in loose reference in accordance with other characters of the story. I find myself often thinking that Dorian lives in the Star Wars world with how often I simply say “The Empire.” (though, I have played Dorian as a Sith Warrior in “Star Wars: The Old Republic”)

Anyway, I feel it is time to buckle down and decide once and for all what sort of characters are members of this alliance, and what sort of group they are. They shall not be Roman inspired because, 1, Elder Scrolls did that with their Cyrodill Empire, and 2, the structures I have described and have in mind for Arvandor City do not match with a Roman inspiration. (no stone pillars or aqueducts spanning over the city’s roofs) Instead, I see this as more of a Middle Ages, between the Dark and Medieval time periods, Empire. So, this could mark it as English, French, German, etc. all depending on the civilization’s decor to the architecture. The Germans are a no, for they are the basis behind a different set of people in the story. French and English both fit for the idea of pompous aristocracy I had in mind for the Empire. (But then, much of the Middle Ages civilizations were ruled by pompous nobility and aristocracy…) In the end, for some kind of connection with Dorian, I think I’m going with a grander British scheme, not just English, but a blend of English, Scottish, and Irish. (Since Dorian has a little Celtic backing — if that was not already evident with his mother’s maiden name being Cavanagh) Perhaps this will lead to a connection between Dorian and Alain, since Alain comes from the origins of the Scots people. (And both have issues with their anger, Ooo… the imaginative juices flow)

More on this another time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

