Elves, Elves, Everywhere!


Lately, I have been noticing a web search on “elven culture” linking to another page of mine. Now, I do not know how genuine it is, because I did the search myself and I went through 15 pages of results on google without finding my own page and so gave up. I seriously do not see people going through 15+ pages of results, not finding what they want (i.e. stumbling upon my page) without revising their keywords. And so, I started thinking. As those who know me will figure out, my thoughts travel in nonsensical patterns and I decided to do a bit of writing on Elven Culture again. Now, this is where my two series of story intertwine, as I have stated in previous posts. The stories of Aleksander Zachery (Repeating History) and Dorian Blackwood (What Lies Between…) are in entirely different worlds, or planets. However, they exist within the same universe. Even though neither tale is any way tied to Science Fiction (…yet) I do stress planets, simply to make it clear that their environs are not separate continents in the same world. Arvandor and Demeteria are different planets within the same cosmos.

Anyway, delays aside… I made a post titled “Elven Nation Culture” where I discussed, specifically, the elves of Demeteria. However, the deities that created Demeteria are the same that created Arvandor. I feel, since the same things occurred (regarding the Sylvan) in Demeteria as in Arvandor, then there would be similarities between the species of Elf that Dorian gets classified under and the species of Elf that the Silverleaf, Dusksinger, Sunstorm, etc. families get classified under. Not to say that Dorian would be a Marsh Elf (since he has physical similarities to that of Dinaer Dusksinger and other of the Marsh Elf sect) but that he would have at the very least, some similarities there-in. Afterall, “Aldeon” is the name given to the forests of Higashi due to the color of their leaves. Aldeon is an Elvish word that means “Ever-Autumn;” this is the same dialect of Elvish spoken by the Forest Elves in the Sylvan Woods, Verdania of the Demeterian world. Dorian was born neither in a forest nor a marsh, but the town he lives in is very close to both types of land-mass within the continent of Arvandor. Who is to say which species he is? To be honest, I never really dwelt on a specific sub-species of Elf that he would be classified under. But, in these thoughts of Elven Culture that were brought about by the origin of this post’s creation, I cannot help but feel I now should.

However, just because Arvandor and Demeteria are of the same universe, does not mean that he gets classified by the same sub-species. Not every world would be exactly alike, that is proven simply in the layout of the terrain in both worlds. So, how does Dorian get classified? Despite the idea that the classifications would not be viewed similarly in each world, I cannot help but say that Dorian would not be a wood elf/forest elf because of, perhaps, my love for Tolkein. Dorian looks nothing like Legolas’ style of Mirkwood Elves, nor does he look like Celeborn & Galadriel, the Loth’Lorian style of Elf. Rather, Dorian is more alike Elrond and Arwen. Shorter hair, of course, but still… darker colored eyes and hair, and tanned skin from not having barrier of tree branches over-head. But which is it that made Elrond different? Being Half-Elven or being Half-Maiar? Obviously, the Maiar do not exist within my story and Dorian is not Half-Elven. Anyway, that’s a matter of thought for another time. Either way, Dorian is not Forest Elf or Marsh Elf, alike those in my other series. Nor is he very much in tune with his Elven lineage, for his family did not seem very much attuned with it in the same manners as was found in Tolkein’s work or in Repeating History. The Cavanagh family show a very dark demeanor, and being snakes, perhaps they could be classified as Marsh Elves. As for the Blackwood family, they could very well be considered Forest Elves, but perhaps an example of a sub-sect within the sect? Blackwood; perhaps they lived in a small forest that bordered the marsh, where darker wood trees were found, rather than being from Aldeon itself. In which case, Dorian would be half-Marsh Elf, half-Forest Elf. Making him something unique and without a name of its own. That seems fitting to me.

The Cavanagh and the Blackwood are not the only elves in the story, and I never explored what the others of the Nightmist were. In Rhy’din, in AOL RP, there were many things they were, and that was the splendor while at the same time the curse of being a Rhy’din RPer. Freedom to do as you wish is great, but often times, people do go overboard. Myself included. And to be honest, it was 20 years ago, so I do not recall every detail from back then. So, was Rosa an elf as well? If so which sect? Kain? Vayne? Garr? etc. That will take some time to piece together. To push towards the point where I eventually unite the two series together, I would say that Vayne at least is an elf as well. I am sure there are a few people titillated by the idea of an Elven Vampire. Perhaps even a few that dislike the idea. But, these are my ideas, and the paths my mind takes. I told you I was crazy.

I do not have an area of frigid temperatures in the Arvandor world, yet. I have not defined any such creature as living in such an area, and so, that would mean that Ice Elves do not exist in Arvandor as they do in Demeteria. This does not mean that they cannot, as I have not really mapped out the whole of that world. It may come about in times, and who knows, maybe in time, I will come up with ideas to feature other types of Elves than are listed in the Demeteria world. Though, to be honest, I cannot think of anything else that would seem appropriate at the time. Unlike Elder Scrolls, I cannot feasibly think of creating  an Elven race that lives within the earth. That’s Dwarven territory and I do prefer to keep Dwarves and Elves as separate species/races.

However, while I cannot think of any other sect of elf, in regards to what I already have, I do kind of have ideas stemming from what was stated earlier. If Dorian is half Marsh Elf and half Forest Elf, what if I were to change Forest Elf to Wood Elf (hopefully not stepping on TES’s toes…) and then take into consideration the idea of sub sects. Since Dorian’s split lineage marks him from a forest nearby a marsh, what if within the categorization of Wood Elf there was then Pine Elf and Oak Elf etc. defining the type of wood or forested region they came from? And so on, try to do the same for the other categories as well. Such as River Elf being a cross between a Sea Elf and a Jungle Elf? Something more to think on.

Much to think on, so while I do that, I shall end the post here for now. Hope this equated to something more than textual rambling. =P

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

