Nano ’13 Day 1


So, last night, I waited for midnight to hit, and soon as the day had gone from Oct 31 to Nov 1st, I started writing! 2 hours later, I had completed the first 3243 words of Dorian’s tale!

Woo! So exhilarating. The first chapter down, Dorian has now met Li Shaoshen, and so their journey together begins. I don’t want to give the story away, but once I feel satisfied with proofreading for grammar, I’ll post it up here. I’ve also since then started on chapter 2, and got a little bit of it down. So far, the total tally is 3,637 words for day 1. I am so psyched, and glad I do not have to wait any more to write this story.

I have high expectations for this story. I know it won’t be finished come the end of November, but I hope that writing at least 50,000 words of it, perhaps more, will get me close to having it finished and available to hopefully publish. Some of this years offers in NaNoWriMo even includes free copies of a paperback of this book. If I can get that done with Nano, it will help me all the more in getting it published for further distribution. I hope, I hope, I hope!

So, anyway, the story is titled “What Lies Between Power & Bliss” and follows some of Dorian’s life to do with his deciphering fact from fiction, the title being a reference to the two phrases “Ignorance is Bliss” and “Knowledge is Power.” Contrary to what I said a while ago, I decided to keep with names for different chapters, and so far, chapter 1 is titled “Belief & Truth” relating to things that both characters believe to be true, and finding out what is really true. That’s all for now; stay tuned for more!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

