Most in-depth Character Development – Day 24-30


Morality — Here we go… be prepared to be scarred for life.

Day 24:

Describe one fight they have had in the past (physical or otherwise).:

Dorian’s fights have been plentiful. I have a feeling I’ve answered this one already before as well, so I’m starting to have second thoughts about this questionnaire. Anyway, the final fight with Dorian’s father was an intense one, that also included fighting against his brothers, and pitting his knowledge of magic against theirs. While they had training, he had only self-practice to pit against their official training. He had to be careful, yet at the same time, the brother’s did not seem to be very skilled at all, attacking him one at a time, and in less than intelligent means. It was also the first time in his life when he lost control of his anger, yet remained completely aware of what transpired during such a time, when previously he’d lose ‘consciousness’ when Jinnzou took over.

Day 25:

What is one thing they feel strongly about?:

Well, aside from the previous question about pet peeves, and his adamant dislike of someone who steals another’s free will, he cares about his sister. Since that is something more frequently stated throughout this questionnaire, there isn’t really much to state here. Dorian has a general lack of care of anything that does not directly relate to him or his sister. If it doesn’t effect him, he doesn’t care what happens in the world. His dislike for robbing someone’s free will relates to his dislike for what his family did to Raina and him as well. No one would give permission to abuse them, really, but the idea of deciding someone’s life links up with the mentality he witnessed in his father and brothers. Not to mention that he is seeing such similarity in his mother’s family.

One trait they admire?:

There isn’t really anything Dorian admires, because he has it pretty much set in his mind that anything that is worthy of admiration is only ever shown by people when they wish to get something in return, thus making it not admirable. In short, it is all a lie. The fact that the Nightmist clan does everything they do in order to benefit the members of the clan is only slightly better therefore simply because it is not entirely selfish, but part of a group benefit.

What disturbs them?:

Life.

Day 26:

Do the ends justify the means in their eyes?:

Such is a very loaded question. He despises a lot of people for doing whatever they do for their own benefits, but at the same time, would more than likely not find any fault with hurting whoever he hurts if it means that he’d wind up finding and rescuing Raina. At the same time,  he will NOT rob someone of their free will. He simply won’t do it, and would go out of his way to pay someone back for doing such, even if the person who’s will they robbed had nothing to do with him. In fact, I am sure Dorian would step up to get in someone’s way even if they intended to rob the will of his family despite not caring for any of them, save Raina.

Are they a leader or a follower? Why?:

Dorian is Kirito. For those that do not watch anime, or do not like it, or whatever reason you have for not being familiar with the character Kirito, Kirito is a solo person who does not wish to be around people for the sole fact that he likes to get involved in deep and dangerous things. For Kirito it is in a desire to not cause anyone to become harmed in the fact that they would more than likely be involved in something way out of their league. Not out of a sense of superiority, but simply to not have the guilt associated with feeling responsible for their harm. For Dorian, his reasons are less noble. Sure, he doesn’t really wish to hurt anyone. If his dreams were to ever be realized, he would live with Raina in some far off and secluded place where he would never have to fight again. However, he simply does not care enough about anything or anyone to want to be associated with them unless of course their goals sync up with his. He would not submit to authority however, and would at best simply be an associate, not a follower or leader. That is how people are treated within the Nightmist Clan. Brothers and sisters, companions, not leaders and followers.

What do they feel responsible for? (Ex. I owe it to the world to do this.):

Raina’s security.

Day 27:

Do they believe that a person can redeem themselves from mistakes of the past?:

He can only hope. That decision lies in the person that has been wronged. If Raina can forgive him, then he’ll be relieved beyond description.

What scares them?:

The prospect of finding all he’s done to have been for nothing. Failing in his search for Raina, finding his father to still be alive and to be still under his grip, or to simply be transitioned into the abusive control of his mother’s family.

How do they feel about death? Have they been significantly affected by it?:

Dorian does not fear death. He strives to survive, merely to find and rescue Raina, but his own well being is hardly a concern of his. If he manages to rescue Raina, and get her somewhere safe, he does not care if he winds up dying in the process or after.

Day 28:

Do they value faith over reason or vice versa?:

Dorian holds no faith in … faith.

Do they believe in an afterlife?:

Heaven forbid. (pun most definitely intended)

Do they have any habits that reflect their beliefs? (Ex. regular prayer, vegetarianism, etc.):

None.

Do they respect the beliefs of others?:

They are mocked.

Day 29:

Would they be more likely to act for the good of one or the good of many?:

If it benefits his goals of finding Raina, sure, he’ll act. Otherwise, he’ll act for no one.

Are they manipulative?:

Quite honest and outright about his ways.

Choose a holiday and come up with a potential scenario involving your character and that holiday.:

Oktoberfest. Dorian drinks himself into a stupor.

Day 30:

Is the character religious? What are their views, and why or why not?:

Their views are that the gods don’t really care, or do not possess as much power as they purport themselves to have. Because why else would so much suffering exist in this world with benevolent gods watching over us?

How would they like to die?:

Anyway, after Raina is safe.

Choose a person, historical or fictional, and write about a meeting between them and your character.:

I sat upon a rock outcropping, spilling down from the foothills, down to the river. It was a rare moment, where I got to just sit, feel the wind, and not worry about someone disturbing me and stirring up anger. A moment of peace. The gods must have fallen asleep.

As I sat there, staring at the rippling water of the river as it traveled downstream towards the falls in the distance, I heard a voice. Someone muttering, to himself, about something. When I looked to see who it was, I saw the hunched figure of a nearly naked male crawling, as if he were some four-legged animal down alongside the river. His mutterings were discernible after a moment.

“They stoles it from us. We must gets it back, but how precious? Wrings their neck, smash their faces against the rocks, we must. That is how we do’s it.”

Is that how I sounded when I argued with Jinnzou? As if on que…

“He sounds crazier than you do, Dorian,” Jinnzou chuckled in my head. I grumbled and the sound of such seemed to grasp the others attention. He silenced, and turned himself towards me, a look of frustration on his face as if he had found me snooping and spying on him.

“Who is it precious? Who is the filthy sneaker?”

“Well, I just took a bath this morning. You however look like you reek. I can smell your stench with my eyes,” I said.

“Nasty thing! It speaks ill of us, it does. Smash its faces in with the rocks it sits on!”

“And here I thought I had a poor grasp on my anger..” I muttered, lowly.

“We’ll silence him, precious!” He declared, as he turned himself and started crawling towards me, faster than anyone should be able to when using their knees as if they were hind legs. “We’ll shuts him up with rock and strangles the breath outs of him!”

Now, I have no idea what happened in this guy’s life, but I wasn’t about to feel sympathy for being in a similar state of mind as I. I would like to think that I had more clarity of mind than he. I leaned back, and before he could reach my hand with those boney fingers of his, I shoved my foot against his chest, and shoved him away, kicking his nearly nonexistent weight nearly into the river itself. He fell with a thud at the river’s edge.

With a lofted brow, I got to my feet casually, taking my time. He, on the other hand, scrambled, and perhaps did himself more harm than good, getting back to his … feet? No, he remained in that ‘four-legged’ posture.

“Who are you?” I asked.

“It asks us who we are. How dare he ask us. He who snuck up on us.”

“I was just sitting on the rock when you came upon me, fool. It’s not my fault if you were too busy talking with yourself to notice me.”

He squealed out of anger, I presume, and launched himself at me again. He clung to me, using my upper body as leverage to keep himself there, and tried to strangle me again. He was so light-weighted and small enough that he could have been a bag I carried. I staggered back, but swung a fist into his side, which made him wail. However, he clung to me still with his legs around my body. I turned as I continued to stumble, and used such as momentum in shoving him right into the rocks I had been sitting on. He let go then, and backing away, I withdrew the sword at my hip, and pointed the blade right to his face. When he regained his composure, he finally had the sense to look worried and scared. He rose both his arms in front of him, and withered against the rock.

“Now, tell me your name, you pathetic little rat.”

His body continued to wither from me, curling up into a ball. Did he think that would protect him? Whether he did or not, it at least made me pause. He began to shake, as if he were suddenly ill, coughing with such vigorousness that I thought he was dry heaving. As he did however, I eventually noticed, he was answering me.

“Gollum! Gollum!”

“Gollum? What an odd… well, whatever. Gollum, you are delusional.” I lofted my brow at him. He was still trying to curl himself up, as if he could make himself smaller before the blade I still had pointed at him. Was I doomed to this state? Would I one day be as pathetic if I could not learn to control Jinnzou? I lowered my sword, and with a huff, slipped it back into its scabbard. “I pity you, and I pity myself…” I walked off.

“So pathetic,” Jinnzou said in my mind.

“He is,” I muttered softly.

“You, not him.” I snarled. Jinnzou laughed. “I am pathetic for staying my hand?”

“Staying your hand? Is that it? It looked to me like you chickened out. Not even able to kill a weakling.”

“Contrary to your belief, I need not kill everything that crosses my path.”

“If you want to live, you should discard that belief. No one cares about you, they never have. They only wish to use you; to abuse you. If you wish to live, you must dispose of them.”

“Gollum cannot hurt me.”

“You misinterpret what he is capable. He is crazed, he is wild. Were you not deemed weak in your father’s eyes?”

I hesitated a step and nearly tripped over a rock. As I regained my footing, I snarled again. “Be silent, Jinn.” I could feel the heat from inside me. He hated that name.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

