Nano ’13 & Dorian


I have pretty much reasoned out that if I write anything related and yet unrelated to Aleksander Zachery and Repeating History this upcoming Nanowrimo, it would be about my other main character, Dorian. So, I thought I’d so somewhat of a Character Spotlight, and share a little bit about him before I do write about him. Granted, Nanowrimo is still a month away, but why not start now. I also hope to get back into writing this blog, and hope to get more regular with posting. I am by no means going to claim I will write something every day, because I don’t think I could do that when I can’t even stay focused enough to write something for my hopeful novels every day. I do hope to do a day-by-day account, even in small doses, when Nano begins, however.

So, anyway, spotlight. Dorian began on AOL RP as a character named Jett Kuroi. Back in 1993, I joined the large community of RPers on AOL that did everything from fantasy fiction inspired RP in various medieval and anime themed realms to modern, sci fi, and steampunk themes. Still, there was only one world; Rhy’din. I believe Rhy’din still exists in AOL rp, but from my experience, AOL RP is far from what it used to be, so it’s not exactly something I’d try to get back into these days, even with zero cost for AOL.

His name has changed over the years, when I adapted him to many different things, which seems to be a pattern I follow with most of my characters. I play them in many different places/games, and their story, name, and other info gets changed slightly to fit the continuity. In the end,  I’ve basically joined these different continuities into one story, as it still fits with the theme of Rhy’din being an open world with various different levels of technology and themes. In the end, his backstory has become this…

He was born Dorian Blackwood, in a small village within the region known as Kadmos. He was the 5th of 5 children born to Liam Blackwood and Jillian Cavanagh. Jillian died in childbirth, leaving Dorian without a mother. Liam, however, became bitter and blamed Dorian for Jillian’s death. All through Dorian’s life with his father, he was treated like trash, called ‘killer’ and was abused verbally and physically in what equated to a dungeon. Dorian’s four siblings were three brothers; Mathias (12 at Dorian’s birth), Lance (9 at Dorian’s birth), Harald (7 at Dorian’s birth), and one sister; Raina (6 at Dorian’s birth). Raina was the only sibling who treated Dorian well, and did her best to fill in the role of mother by watching after him, feeding him with a bottle, and so on. Without Raina, Dorian would never have survived, for their father refused even to feed him. Because of this, as well as some pre-existing reasons, Raina too was treated poorly by the family. This included whipping, beatings, verbal belittling, and a culmination in rape when she was 14 years old. At this time, Dorian was 8, and seeing his sister raped sent him over the edge. Prior to that time, he had withheld his anger, as his young age and weaker body only resulted in more beatings when he showed his anger. At the age of 8 that released anger manifested in a split personality, and he lashed out at his father and brothers. He and Raina believed he had killed them, till later, when he was 15, and she 21, when their father and brothers reemerged. This time, Dorian finished the job and killed them, but somewhere in the process, Raina disappeared.

When the split personality first made itself known, it spoke in a voice similar to Dorian’s, though deeper and more confident. Dorian, for a long while, believed this voice to belong to someone else entirely. He never saw the owner of the voice, and believed this person was shadowing Dorian throughout his life, and despite being the one to help him kill off his father and brothers, Dorian still views this ‘person’ as nothing more than someone causing him frustration and trauma. This is the cause of a lot of arguing within Dorian’s inner monologue. The voice is never spoken outwardly, only in Dorian’s head, until of course Dorian loses control to that other side of him, and his personality switches. Then, the inner monologue ceases, and the under confident Dorian merely watches as the angry side of him goes about doing whatever he pleases, regardless of who gets in his way. Due to Dorian’s belief that this split personality was really another person entirely, he gave them a name, since no other name was mentioned when asked. Thus, Dorian’s evil half became known as Jinnzou Ningen (Artificial Human).

The many different names that Dorian became known as in other games and RP, became aliases that Dorian used. Without his father and brothers, he and Raina lived a criminal’s life in order to simply survive. They would not let themselves go to an Orphanage and run the risk of being pulled apart from each other. Despite that, Raina disappeared, and even without her, Dorian had to continue living his life as a thief just to get by. He fell into other shameful things as the years passed, and in doing so he would use many aliases, to hide who he was. Thus, Jett Kuroi became one of those aliases. He also joined a crew of other degenerate people of society, many of whom were Faerie, Vampire, and Lycanthropes, among other things, and were known as the Allied Kindred Spirits of the Night, though they also chose a ‘family’ name to use to further unite their numbers into a more, seemingly loving, union. Thus, the name Nightmist was tacked on at times.

From here, Dorian’s story is progression. From the age of 15 on he is searching for his sister. I have played him in various points of his life, always in desperate but ceaselessly futile attempts to find his sister. His condition is ever tormenting him. He shifts back and forth from cold and detached to shy and nervous all the while being chided by his other half, being called weak, stupid, and useless. He chastises himself, urging on the belief that without the angry side of him, he would be dead. A kind of a mix of Hulk and Smeagol/Gollum.

Writing about him, I am unsure if I would ever let him find Raina again, as to do so would end the story, leaving not much else to tell, for I am fully confident that if he ever found Raina again, he would become quite docile and calm, and that second half of him would become quite quiet. But, that I shall explore in the future I suppose.

As for his physical appearance, he has always been a shorter than average man, which has resulted in another weight upon his confidence issues. His height has ranged, again based on continuity, but he has always been short for his species, more often then not shorter than, or as tall as, most women. At times, I’ve even put a bit of Edward Elric in him, where he would occasionally throw a fit over some over-exaggeration, mainly on his part, over how short he is. ( i.e. “My, what a shortie.” “Who are you calling a shrimp so small you could step on him and not even notice!?” “I … didn’t say that…” ) And at other times, I’ve even played him so shy in regards to women that he will simply blurt out unintended and usually self-deprecating, statements that ruin his chances with most women, but for some, wind up finding him cute for it ( c/o Jeff Murdoch – “Coupling” ). I have also written some chapters, titled What Lies Between…, on a tale regarding his past, ending (i.e. as far as I’ve written so far) with him on the search for his sister, even after some interaction with his mother’s side of the family. I do not think I’ll be re-visiting that and finishing it for Nanowrimo, but rather starting over and hopefully taking a better look at it. Also, whether or not I’ll write it as a Dorian self narrative, I am unsure of at the moment.  But there, I went off on a tangent. Again, I tend to do that. Anyway, he has had black hair most of the time, but there have been some instances where he had brown hair. In either case, it’s always been short and spiky, and to some extent looking unkempt, but never dirty. He doesn’t really care about his appearance in the way that pretty boys do, but it’s not as if he doesn’t bathe. He also has green eyes. Inspiration for him has placed him in many outfits with a Japanese theme at times, but other times it’s a simple and almost cliche medieval adventurer look.

As for his origin… Well, as I said, he came from AOL’s Rhy’din realm, and I used that for his back story a good many times, but if I am to put this to writing that may one day see publication, then I feel compelled to change the name at least. I seriously doubt anyone has any copyright privileges over Rhy’din, but I still don’t feel right claiming that as part of my creation when it existed before I even joined that community. I have dabbled with a few alternate ideas for names, and the realm of Kadmos is among those ideas for new names for the world and its inhabitants. I do not wish to reveal any of that right now, because I hope to share this story throughout November, so why spoil the surprise.

Till then…

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

