20 Days of WoW: Day 1


So, it was Francine the introduced me to this, and in turn, she was introduced by Erinia. I had never even heard of 20 days of any thing else posts, much less WoW, but looking over what she’s posted so far, I guess I will give it a whirl and see if I can get into it. If anything, it should give me something to talk about. So, here it is…

Day 1:  Introduce yourself.

Well, my name is Ken. I was born in Manhassett, Long Island, NY. I lived in New York for a short time before the family moved off to New Jersey due to returning home one day to find a basketball sized hole in our front door. We moved to Landing, NJ which is a small town in Roxbury. Lived there for about 10 years before we moved out to Rockaway due to medical reasons.

I’ve always had a good memory. Ask friends of mine and they’ll say I have an iron trap for a memory, but this is only partially true. My short term memory sucks, but if I do things often enough in a short period of time, I remember it forever. Contrary to that explanation, I remember the day we moved out of New York, when I was only 4 years old. Can’t repeat that over and over in a short time, but there you go.

I’m usually a quiet and reserved person, I don’t drink or smoke, and just like to have fun. My motto, or personal philosophy on life is Growing Old is Mandatory, Growing Up is Optional. Many complaints I’ve heard is that I don’t talk much, but get someone who has similar interests, and we can talk on and on … about those interests. If it doesn’t interest me, I don’t have much to say on it.

Irony alert. Every job I’ve had has been involved with some form of Customer Service. My first job ever was at an AMC Cinema, and I worked there for about a year and a half before I left due to academic reasons. After I finished High School I went on to work at a Toys R Us, Office Max, Wendy’s, and a Cracker Barrel. Now, I work at Safety First, which is  monitoring service for companies that have a need to monitor the safety of their drivers.

My personal interests have always been regarded as childish. I am a die hard anime fan, and a PC Gamer. The second of which is pretty obvious, given the title of this post. Other than WoW, though, I’ve played online games ranging from RTS to RPG genres such as Starcraft, Age of Empires, Shadowbane, Ultima Online, City of Heroes, Guild Wars, Diablo II, Gates of Andaron, League of Legends, Rift, and a few various other less known games. I love fantasy story involving not just a medieval theme, but space-aged and even some modern. However, primarily medieval themes interest me the most. Aside from playing the games, I enjoy Role-play because behind it all, I enjoy the story of the games, and of the books I read and movies/TV I watch. I write my own stuff, but like to also get together with friends and make up our own story through creative writing play in a text based environment. The characters I play tend to show up in every game I play, and so you’ll find the characters I play in WoW are also included in a story that I am writing myself. Such story can be found on my site, at Era of Unification.

My inspirations for my writing have been numerous, but the prime ones are C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Laurel K. Hamilton, and my own father. Aside from my likes on the fantasy, I’m also fond of history, and as such, Tolkien’s writing and inspirations to his writing thrill me. I also enjoy delving into history on a regular basis, and tend to do so before I write in depth about something that isn’t common knowledge to me, like the history of Japan.

Contrary to other kids, when I was younger I didn’t go around exclaiming about what I wanted to be when I grew up,  because I didn’t care about growing up. I just wanted to keep up with what I enjoyed as a kid, and there were no professions I knew of that involved watching anime and reading endlessly about history and fantasy. I guess when it came down to it, I wanted to be a writer, though I was never good with grammar. I’m still not. I correct people endlessly now, because I can see the errors made more clearly, but I’m still by far, no expert. Yet at the same time, I’ve been told my writing is very good, and people want to role-play with me because of how well I write. I don’t quite understand how I can write well and still suck at grammar.

Well, that’s me, in a nutshell. If I ever get out of this nutshell, there might be more to tell. Till then, arivaderci.

Leave a comment

Filed under Age of Empires, C.S. Lewis, City of Heroes, Diablo, Fiction, Gaming, Guild Wars, J.R.R. Tolkien, Laurel K Hamilton, League of Legends, Life, Literature, Multiplayer, Role-play, Shadowbane, Starcraft, Strategy, World of Warcraft, Writing

Leave a Reply

