AA


Hello, my name is Ken. (*fanfare* Hi Ken!) And I’m an Altaholic.

This has been true for as long as I can remember. Even in the first MMO I ever played this was true, even when I had no idea what an Alt was. I can easily find characters I like and play them and level them up. But I still feel the desire now and again to try out other options and see what I think of them.

The first character I made in Shadowbane (incidentally the same character I made first in WoW) was an Elf Ranger named Elvulith. I made him an archer, and leveled him up, but I was always curious about the other possibilities. Soon, I made a Human Ranger Blademaster, a Dwarf Crusader, a Dwarf Warrior, and a Minotaur Barbarian. Others followed.

In City of Heroes, my first character was a Martial Arts / Regeneration Scrapper, and before he reached 50, I had the entire Liberty Server filled with characters. Of course, in City of Heroes, my SuperGroup were all Altaholics, and we would eventually have characters in every level range, just so we could always have a character to play with someone else in the SG.

In Guild Wars there was less room for making characters. So I got another account, and soon had 8 characters.

In the Rift Alpha Testing, everyone in the guild I was testing with had characters in the 30s, while I was working on my third character in the starting area.

Long story short (TOO LATE!!!) I have always enjoyed playing out all the options, and seeing what I like best before devoting myself to a character. In the end, I have found that I have a common link between the characters I have liked the most in each game. Someone that can take a lot of enemies at once, shell out tons of damage, and not work all that hard to do it.

Back in Wrath of the Lich King, Paladin were the top tank, and they excelled at it without much effort. Numerous AoE abilities that, when timed correctly, could keep any number of enemies focused on you, no matter how much threat/damage the damage dealers put out. (a whole one person on all of Moon Guard could pull threat off of me…. Caell *shake fist*)

Diablo II, I had an army of minions as a Necromancer, and the combination of Skeletal Soldiers, Skeletal Mages, a Golem, and a Lightning casting mercenary, were capable of dealing with any number of foes, as I sat in the back, and hurled curses and a few AoE attacks.

In City of Heroes, more specifically, City of Villains, I enjoyed to no end, the overwhelming power of my Robotics / Force Field Mastermind. I had less minions then the Necromancer, only 6, but it was still enough, granted all the buffs I could put on my own pets, and the different crowd control options I had for use against my enemies. I could lock them in place, as my robots went ‘Firing Squad’ on them.

And that’s what I like. I never saw anything to that extent in Guild Wars or Rift, so maybe that’s why they weren’t as fun, and I have yet to see anything like it in the ads for DCUO. Diablo III has me itching to play a Witch Doctor, because I want to see if it’s anything like the Necro from Diablo II.

Yet, still, in every game I play, I test the waters, looking for a character I can enjoy, even if they don’t have these specific aspects. For I have still enjoyed one man killing machines, like the Death Knight used to be when they first came out.

Leave a comment

Filed under City of Heroes, DC Universe Online, Diablo, Gaming, Guild Wars, Multiplayer, Rift: Planes of Telara, Shadowbane, World of Warcraft

Leave a Reply

