The Thin Line Between Worlds


So I came up with a name, as can be seen on the page Segregation Eras: Fighting the Apocalypse, for the region of the world that my human race lives. It might attribute it to the whole continent, I might not. Coming up for names has always been hard for me, especially for regions.

However, thinking about some of my characters in WoW has made me think about their counterparts in my writing. I changed their history around from my story, so that they could fit into the world of Azeroth. In both realms they are High Elves. In both realms, the parents of the main family are dead.

In Azeroth, there is no King for the High Elves, in Verdania, Astalder, the eldest Silverleaf brother is the King. In Azeroth, Astalder is a Death Knight, in Verdania, Astalder is a Rune Warden.

In both realms, Istalindir is a Mage. In Azeroth, Istalindir was turned into a Wretched due to the Sunwell’s destruction.

In Azeroth, Dorenduil is the lone survivor of the siege of Quel’thalas among the Silverleaf family, and is a Paladin. In Verdania, his family is the ruling family, and houses the largest number of Elves among all Elven kind. In Verdania, Dorenduil is a Wizard.

In Azeroth, Valaya is the daughter of Istalindir, named after her dead mother. In Verdania, Valya is Istalindir’s wife, and they have not had a child yet. In both realms, she is a Paladin. (In WoW there is an extra a in her name because the original name was unavailable to me. I have yet to meet the person who took that spelling before me.)

In Azeroth, Elvulith is a Druid, and is a Night Elf. He dabbles between the teachings of Restoration and the Feral. In Verdania, Elvulith is a Ranger and married to a Druidess named Arinai.

And the list goes on, but not all the characters from my writing are in WoW. Some I made in other games. Such as the Hogosha Clan. They are from Guild Wars. Kenji Hogosha is an Assassin/Monk, Kosuke Hogosha is a Ranger/Ritualist, Keiko Hogosha is a Elementalist/Ritualist, and Kusuya Hogosha is a Mesmer/Necromancer. I also had versions of Aleksander and Mikael Zachery in Guild Wars, who were a Warrior/Paragon and a Dervish/Elementalist respectively. And, I would continue to make versions of these, and other, characters, in the game Rift.

My point, however, is I still struggle for names of the world my story takes part in, and not just that but the name of the continents within the world, and the regions within the continents. I come up with names slowly, depending on the mood I’m in, or something that comes to mind when I work on this. For instance, one of my ideas for a name for the world as a whole has been to  use another name for Rebirth or Renewal, since that pertains to what happens at the start of the story. I chose the name Verdania for the area the Humans live in because it’s supposed to be a lush green expanse of land. Verdant. I chose The Sylvan Wood for the Elves because of the rich connection between the fairy and the Elves not only in my story, but in other literature and Celtic legend. I have even thought of using the Celtic words for North, South, East, and West, for the names of the four continents in my story.

Lastly, I shall soon be posting another page to my Segregation Eras grouping, to go back and look at the Elves. I shall branch to many different groups of Elves, thus sighting different time lines within the one. I shall touch on the High Elves and the Grey Elves mainly (whom shall make an appearance in my story, even though Yami destroyed them in his own past, between the years of 1600 and 1616 in the already posted Face of Evil page) to give further info on their histories. I hope you all enjoy reading it when it’s there.

Leave a comment

Filed under C.S. Lewis, Christopher Tolkien, Chronicles of Narnia, Comedy, Fantasy, Fiction, Gaming, Guild Wars, J.R.R. Tolkien, Literature, Lord of the Rings, Multiplayer, Rift: Planes of Telara, Shadowbane, The Hobbit, The Silmarillion, Unfinished Tales, World of Warcraft, Writing

Leave a Reply

