Naming Test


Testing things out, and I hope I don’t mess things up. Taking DB’s advice, and putting it to test, here I shall form names for the race of bird men in my story, which has been giving me the most trouble, especially with the fact that I still don’t have a name yet for the race as a whole.

The bird race will be divided into three groupings; one group that works with the United Elven Nation, modeled chiefly after Hawks, Falcons, and Eagles; one group that works with the Drow, modeled chiefly after Owls, Nighthawks, and Ravens; and then a group that is hostile to both, modeled chiefly after Vultures, Crows, and Condors, that eventually join Yami. So with the topic of race name, I have been toying with a few ideas. My main idea, however, was following a trend that Guild Wars did. The Tengu in Guild Wars gets it’s name for Japanese folklore. Tengu were creatures depicted as part bird and part man, and were referred to as revered spirits. There’s more to the story than that, but it isn’t important to my point. I decided to look into myths of other regions and see if there were similar occurrences of bird folklore. Garuda appears in both Hindu and Buddhist myths. He is recognized more commonly in the Hindu religion, as being represented as a large Eagle that serves as the Mount of Vishnu. He is represented as a male with a golden body, white face, the upper portion of a beak in place of a nose, red eagle wings, and with a crown upon his head. Not knowing much of Hindu belief and culture, I can’t really follow all of what I’m reading, but I can see that there were also other names for Garuda within the Hindu religion. These names include; Chirada, Gaganeshvara, Kamayusha, Kashyapi, Khageshvara, Nagantaka, Sitanana, Sudhahara, Suparna, Tarkshya, Vainateya, and Vishnuratha. This gives a few base names to work with, I would suppose. So, taking my stab at using DB’s method…

Base Names:

Sita
Supa
Chira
Kama
Kash
Nag
Khag
Tark
Gagan
Sudha
Vain

To add to DB’s ideas, I would say something that can be done is thinking in terms of prefix and suffix. The base name does not have to be how the name starts, or finishes, but can be used as part of the name. I think that was what he was driving at anyway, but let’s put that to the test. Now to separate them into their groups. First, the Birds of Prey, Elven allied birds (i.e. Eagle, Hawk, Falcon, etc.)

Male:

Gagarn
Gragali
Sitali
Inago
Itarko
Nagesh
Gaganeshi
Tarkon
Chirashi
Chiramo

Female:

Ivaina
Ansita
Chirana
Anasa
Sutari
Nagana
Rosita

Now, the Ravens and Owls, or otherwise, nocturnal birds, associated with the Drow.

Male:

Sukama
Kharama
Hichiro
Gagano
Nagoro

Female:

Strichira
Hichira
Karani
Kamani
Kashya
Achira

Finally, the followers of Yami, the Carrion Birds

Male:

Akama
Morkash
Dotarno
Gagaren
Dorvain

Female:

Supala
Kamali
Khagura
Takani
Sura

Well, that’s my stab at it. Any opinions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Gaming, Literature, Multiplayer, Writing

Leave a Reply

